...

Okay, so. Where to begin.

As you all know, Twitter is currently turning into a slow-burning dumpster fire as a grown man with too much money is having his midlife crisis. So I figured now would be as good a time as any to go back to basics and try running my own website. As some of you may recall, I've had this place since 2019! (I thought maybe I had it longer than that but I am thinking of my Splatoon webring that I haven't touched in about 4 years now.) Anyway, I'm slowly but surely getting this page to a point where I can display my own stuff online without having it tied to a social media page, and I figured while I was at it, I may as well have a centralized space for blogging too. Don't worry, I'll still be posting on other sites, but those will be more for quick little updates that don't really warrant me writing up an entire blog post.

I know ultimately social media will probably be everyone's go-to place to see what people are up to, but some other friends of mine and I have started putting together personal websites so we can have our own little spaces online in the event that Twitter finally kicks the bucket for good. I hope others are encouraged to maybe do the same? I miss the simplicity of just going to someone's page to see what they're up to without having to wade through scads and scads of tweets from strangers that I don't necessarily care about. Especially when social media sites can be so full of venomous vibes lately. The Old Internet had its flaws, but I feel like I had a healthier relationship with being online back then, so maybe there was some shit that it was doing right. Who knows?

Anyway. I'm gonna be blogging it up over here every so often. I hope people are into that sorta thing! If you're reading this, then thanks for taking the time to check out my silly little space here. Hoping to do more with it real soon!!!

Catch ya later!

--mel